top of page

Legal officer working for Women's rights in Malaysia

Updated: Nov 17, 2021

Country Ambassador Syafiqah - Malaysia

Who is Syafiqah?

Hi! My name is Syafiqah Fikri.

I am 28 years old, and I'm from Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. I have a qualification in Bachelor of Law (LL.B.)(Hons) as well as Post Graduate Diploma in Syariah and Practice.

I am currently working as a legal officer for a human rights NGO that is advancing the rights of women in Malaysia.

I work with fighting for law reforms and better policy that can benefit women in the long term. I am also an advisory board member for an NGO that specializes in healthcare education and services for refugees in Malaysia.

Who is an inspiration of yours?

My inspiration would be my late grandparents. I heard so many stories about both my maternal and paternal grandparents. Their passion, sincerity and kindness have always been a value that was very crucial in my family while growing up. They consistently supported people in their community and they always expressed how important it is that the intention must be genuine to help others because you want them to be happy. That your support relieves some of their worries and problems.

What change do you wish to see in your community/country?

My wish for my country is that all Malaysian would have equal access to education, healthcare, basic needs, and opportunities. It is important for all Malaysian to have access to the necessities so that Malaysia as a whole nation are able to move forward together and not leave anyone behind, including minorities as well as indigenous people.

Where should we eat if we come to your community?

Malaysian food palette is very diverse and my favourite thing to do when someone visits Malaysia is to take them to the night market as well as street hawker so you can experience different Malaysian food at once. My go-to dishes is Laksa and Cendol.

A restaurant that I would like to recommend is Rebung in Kuala Lumpur.



Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page